top of page

Peaceful Parenting Is Not Perfect Parenting



Peaceful Parenting is not perfect parenting.

It is the constant choice to seek a respectful, non-violent, loving relationship with our offspring, especially in times of conflict.

Time Stamp: Jan 3 2017

CONFESSION!!!

Hope (6) and I had a challenge. I was triggered, she was confused.

The dispute was over use of the bdrm to sleep and I was not in control of my feelings because I was tired and overwhelmed.

She was calm. I was not. I didn't yell but I said things I regretted the instant they escaped my lips and landed in the ears of my beloved girl.

She cried big heartbroken tears. I surveyed the moments that passed, near frozen with how negative things had become because truly this is very uncharacteristic of our relationship.

I finally unstuck myself from the emotional chaos and went to Hope, making sure I got permission first, so I could hold her and rock her and cry with her; something I had never experienced as a child but I knew would satiate us both.

I recanted my harsh words and made sure it had not affected her self worth; I assured her this was about my lack of emotional control, not about her behavior.

I can't tell this story without tears forming; it is painful to share but I know that some people think we never have conflict here. I don't often have time to tell the accounts, but this time I did, so I took advantage.

I hope this will help everyone to feel hopeful even when conflict arises with our young.

All is not lost.

We can bring things back from the brink.

Every moment is a chance to make a new choice.

Peaceful Parents make mistakes. A lot of mistakes. The difference is, we learn from them.


 

NEW episode of The Freeschoolin' Homestead out for your viewing pleasure!



38 views0 comments
Freeschoolin Logo.png
Recent Posts
Categories
Archives
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Freeschoolin' on Pinterest
  • Freeschoolin' on Facebook
  • Freeschoolin' on Twitter
  • The Freeschoolin' Homestead
  • Freeschoolin' on Instagram
  • Freeschoolin' Family on Tik Tok
Freeschoolin Logo.png

Books

ABC's Cover.jpg
1 Freeschoolin' Title 2.jpg
Image (10).jpg
Picture Journal Cover.jpg
bottom of page