top of page

Scared of Santa!



Scared of Santa  Article Title Page

Everyone loves Santa Claus!

Right? I remember LOVING Santa. When I think about why, it has more to do with my abusive childhood than a beloved icon of the holidays. For me, the fantasy of Santa was a light in the darkness. Someone who, every year, gave me things that I loved and never expected anything in return. I felt loved because of this and because I was lacking in real love from my family. Santa was everything and when I found out the truth a week before the 25th in my 13th year, I was devastated. I was jaded. I trusted my family even less. Despite this, I carried on the Santa tradition with my firstborn. It wasn't until Hope came 17 along years later, that I started to take off the rose coloured glasses. When I thought about Hope finding out I'd lied to her for years, I felt sick. I just couldn't justify the why. Magic isn't derived from deception. And because we followed our instinct to pretend Santa with Hope but not to lie, she's grown up with a wonderful sense of imagination and wonder. Scared of Santa Hope has never wanted to see the man in red before, but when we went to a mall this week, a very well dressed and kind Santa came up behind her and sweetly said hello, freaking her the heck out. She must have backed up 50 ft and kept on going, nearly knocking me over. We of course supported her wishes not to respond and to avoid him. When we went to Cabela's to get a free toy we'd heard about from friends, there was another really well done Santa there with a real beard and all. He had a good vibe to him and Hope, though she didn't have to, wanted to face her fears and go and talk to him. Daddy went with her and we got a free picture ( didn't think to get in the picture myself...next year ) and interacted with this very kind Santa who didn't pressure Hope to answer questions, sensing her fear. She was glad for the experience, though she was equally as glad to clear her energy afterward. So no, everyone doesn't love Father Christmas and I'm so glad we encountered a sensitive Santa who understood this.


Hope's first pic with Santa (her choice)

This Week

We got our car fixed by the incredible folks at Craft Auto, picked up groceries at Nicholyn Farms, baked gingerbread, met friends at the mall for some more Holiday Train fun and cute pics, visited a new playplace Kings and Castles and had a blast, ventured to Cabela's for the first time (so much fun), got all our presents wrapped in eco-friendly ways and tried to volunteer at a Holiday for the homeless Event, but sadly Hope became quite ill and we had to leave half an hour after we got there. She's doing much better now, thankfully.

Latest Episode The Freeschoolin' Homestead


We hope your family celebrations have been, are and will be amazing, whatever your beliefs and traditions. Wishing you the best of the season from your friendly neighbourhood Freeschoolin' Family. Much Love Always, Wendy - Freeschoolin' Mommy

98 views0 comments
Freeschoolin Logo.png
Recent Posts
Categories
Archives
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Freeschoolin' on Pinterest
  • Freeschoolin' on Facebook
  • Freeschoolin' on Twitter
  • The Freeschoolin' Homestead
  • Freeschoolin' on Instagram
  • Freeschoolin' Family on Tik Tok
Freeschoolin Logo.png

Books

ABC's Cover.jpg
1 Freeschoolin' Title 2.jpg
Image (10).jpg
Picture Journal Cover.jpg
bottom of page